Carolina Championship
Sept. 27, 2019 - CAROLINA CHAMPIONSHIP, Maiden, NC

Submitted by George Hebert

Catawba County Beagle Club hosted the 2019 Carolinas Championship on September 27 & 28.  Weather was warm and dry but high quality runs were experienced each day.

Catawba had it's grounds in great shape and rabbits came well.

Notes of thanks to our judges Davey Kerr and Jim Halley who gave the hounds ample opportunity to display their merit with second series runs resulting in high class winners.

PURINA fed the hounds.

Ernest Williams handled the kitchen and one day of driving the rabbit shagger with Ben Smith driving the second day.

Secretary John Hill handled the administration of the Championship suberbly and VP Dwight Miller was always on the spot to keep the machine running smoothly. Thanks to all who spotted rabbits, transported hounds and owners to the field and made our trial a success.

Field Champion Sunshine Lonesome Sam owned by President George Hebert was the most consistent hound during the running of our Qualifying Trials with Field Champions Bell Road Patience owned by Paul Smith and Carver's Bay Double D owned by Carl Smith following closely in second and third.

Of special note, the male class winner, Field Champion Amity Hill Lawmaker was also the winner of the the Pennsylvania Championship.  Congratulations owner Jennings Ford.

Thanks to Lynette Cool for posting the pictures.

Carolinas Championship Male Winner: Field Champion Amity Hill Lawmaker posed by owner Jennings Ford. Lawmaker also won the Pennsylvania Championship.

Carolinas Championship Female Winner Field Champion Sunshine Calypso posed by owner Pete Proctor.

Carolinas Championship Most Consistent Hound Field Champion Sunshine Lonesome Sam posed by owner George Hebert

Sanctioned Combined Females

Entries:27 Judges:Davey Kerr & Jim Halley Starters:27
Place Hound Sire Dam Owner Breeder Handler
1st Sunshine Calypso Indian Trail Lookout Sunshine Cry Baby Pete Proctor Owner Owner
2nd Sunshine Kit Kat Bub's A&P Dolittle Carolina Miss Kitty Pete Proctor Owner Owner
3rd Sunshine Lady Di Old Friends Mr Tee Ruppe's Lady Dillon Pete Proctor Pete Proctor Jack Ruppe Owner
4th Terra Haven Gwyn Mon Valley Matt Dillon B Mon Valley Adalynn Rose John Kiser Tom Beck Owner
5th Sunshine Southern Chic Carolina Mr. Dillon Sunshine Southern Comfort Pete Proctor Owner Owner

Sanctioned Combined Males

Entries:16 Judges:Davey Kerr & Jim Halley Starters:16
Place Hound Sire Dam Owner Breeder Handler
1st Amity Hill Lawmaker Johnny B Shoemaker Johnny B Loretta Jennings Ford Gary Bushmire Owner
2nd Tanglewood Banjo Cotton Hill Ben Hur Sunshine Cordial Ernest Williams Jr. Pete Proctor Owner
3rd Bub's A&P Dolittle Indian Trail Medicine Man Sunshine Cry Baby Pete Proctor Owner Owner
4th Close Call Cato Carver's Bay D-Day Franklin's Miss Dolly Ernest Williams Jr. Owner Owner
5th Sunshine Lonesome Sam Indian Trail Lookout Sunshine Cry Baby George Hebert Pete Proctor Owner

Story idea, comment, concern? Contact Larry Lee

4420 Hedgethorn Court, Burton, MI 48509

© 2000- — All rights reserved worldwide.